Fascism

22 07 2007


Fascism is an authoritarian political ideology (generally tied to a mass movement) that considers individual and other societal interests subordinate to the needs of the state, and seeks to forge a type of national unity, usually based on, but not limited to, ethnic, cultural, or racial attributes. Various scholars attribute different characteristics to fascism, but the following elements are usually seen as its integral parts: nationalism, authoritarianism, statism, militarism, corporatism, populism, totalitarianism, anti-communism, racism and opposition to economic and political liberalism.” – Wikipedia

I’m not going to call America a fascist nation, because I don’t think we’re there yet. I think we have a ways to go. But there are definite seeds already planted.

As a general rule, I hate politics. I just do.

But when politics meet religion, or more specifically, when political ideology and Christian theology come into contact, then it becomes more interesting to me.

Let me get this out of the way first.

I believe pretty strongly in the secular liberties upon which this country was founded, notice that I said secular and not Christian. I believe strongly in the concept of personal freedom, civil liberties, in freedom of religion, and speech, and press, and assembly. I believe that a secular nation which strives for humanitarian ideals and as a refuge for people of different races, ideologies and of all sorts of opinions is a good thing.

The United States, as a nation built upon secular liberty is a good thing.

So I’m not Anti-America. I’m not an anarchist. I’m not advocating–as Thomas Jefferson did–that we use violence to overthrow corrupt political power. So, to that end, I can be no more against this nation than Jefferson, if I’m radical and perceived as a threat, then you’ll have to get through the writer of the Declaration of Independence before you can get to me.

Here is what I am against. I’m against mindless nationalism, flag waving people who scream “God bless America!” at every turn. Mindless drones of American Civil Religion. I’m not a Religious American–I’m a Christian. I serve Christ, not Caesar.

There are forces at work which are trying to convert us all to the Religion of American Nationalism, and we even have a group of people to hate, we call them “Terrorists” and “Islamofascists”, many people just hate all Muslims.

In the 1930s there was another country that promoted a Religion of Nationalism, and had a group of people to hate and place all the blame on. Germany.

Using German national symbols, charismatic talk, and converting the masses to hatred of the Jews and blaming them for all that’s wrong. Even using the churches to turn Christians away from Christ and toward Nationalist ideas and ideologies.

In this country we have the American Eagle, the flag (“Old Glory”), in our churches we are turning Christians away from Christ and toward American Nationalism, we sing songs of patriotism in the House of God, we speak of the American flag as being “sacred” in the same way the Cross of Jesus Christ is “sacred”. We listen to people incite our passions for the fatherland–the patria in patriotism–we insist everyone be a “patriot”, and if you dare challenge or question the American Civil Religion, if you don’t conform to the way we think we should do things, you’re unpatriotic. And being unpatriotic in the American Religion is nothing short of being called an apostate, a heretic, an infidel.

We haven’t been exporting Muslims to concentration camps, but we do commit torture in prisons–all the while saying it’s not “really” torture.

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe America already is there. Maybe we already are a fascist nation.

To that end, I present to you the Declaration of Barmen, which is as relevant for today’s America as it was for 1930’s Germany.

I serve Christ, not Caesar.

Iesou Christou Kuriou.

-Jon

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

